DLM Dashboard

Grouping databases

DLM Dashboard groups databases according to pipeline, server or category. You can switch between these views using the Group databases by drop-down menu:
 

Pipelines

Group your databases by pipeline to visualize schema changes as they progress through the stages of the database lifecycle: Development, Integration, Testing, Acceptance, and Production. Or, if you're using DLM Dashboard 1.7.4 or later, you can rename these database categories (see Categories).

When a database is added to DLM Dashboard, it's added to a pipeline with databases that share similar schemas. If there aren't any databases with similar schemas, the database is added to a new pipeline.

Pipelines are automatically named according to the databases added to them. To rename a pipeline, click on its name. 

To move a database to a pipeline, click the  on the database and select an existing pipeline, or click New pipeline
 

If you're using filters

When you move a database from a filtered pipeline to a newly created pipeline, the filter file is applied to the new pipeline. When you move a database to an existing pipeline, this won't affect any filters on it - the database will use any filter on the pipeline it moves to.

Categories

You can categorize databases according to their stage in the database lifecycle. To do this, in either Pipeline, Server or Category view, click the suggested category, or click Uncategorized and selecting a category from the list.

 

Renaming categories

The default category names are Development, Integration, Testing, Acceptance and Production. If you're using DLM Dashboard 1.7.4 or later, you can rename these categories. To do this:

  1. Go to the Configuration page.
  2. Click View options.
  3. In the Category names section, enter the new name for the category you want to change.
  4. Click Save.

Hiding categories

In DLM Dashboard 1.7.4 and later, you can hide unused categories from the pipeline view. To do this:

  • Go to the Configuration page.
  • Click View options.
  • Select Hide categories that aren't in use.
  • Click Save.

The unused categories will remain visible until you have categorized all the databases in your pipeline.

Changes to these options will affect all users.

Servers

If you monitor multiple databases across different servers, you can group databases by server to see the databases arranged according to their server, rather than environment.


Didn't find what you were looking for?