Updates to our licensing system
We’re in the process of improving the licensing experience for our products, gradually rolling out updates across our product range (you can check the latest list of supported products). The aim of these improvements is to give our customers more control over how they manage their licenses.
As an end user of a Redgate product, you'll see the most obvious change when you’re prompted to log in with a Redgate ID during product activation.
As the license owner (normally the person who purchased the product) or a license admin, you’ll now see a list of identified users against the product when you log in to the My Products page on the Redgate website. As well as seeing who’s actually using the licenses, you’ll also be able to remotely deactivate those identified users (for example if a person has left the company, or if the license needs to be freed up for someone else to use).
When you install most Redgate products (apart from free ones), you have a trial period to evaluate them without purchase. Trial periods vary from 14 to 28 days depending on the product.
If you need more time to evaluate a product, email email@example.com.
Managing your licenses
If you've purchased Redgate products, you can log in to the Redgate website to manage your product licenses. You'll need to log in with the email address and password you provided when you purchased the product.
After you log in, you can view details of every product you've purchased, including the number of licenses and serial numbers for each product.
For some products, you can view details of who is using each license, and deactivate those licenses from the website. This functionality is part of a series of licensing updates (see Updates to our licensing system above), and is not yet available in all products.
To see more information about who is using a license, they'll need to have logged in to that product with a Redgate ID. When users are logged in, they'll be shown as identified users in the license management section of the website. Activations where the user hasn't logged in previously will be shown as anonymous.
For more information about managing your licenses, see Managing your Redgate licenses.
When end users have activated products with a Redgate ID, you'll be able to see their email addresses.
Not all products currently support activation with a Redgate ID, but we're working on adding support across the product range.
Because we don't know who users are if they haven't signed in with with a Redgate ID, we can't show identified users for all activations. Historical activations where a Redgate ID has not been used will be shown as anonymous.
However, if end users activate again using a Redgate ID, they will then be shown as identified users for the products they are using.
Finding your serial number
When you purchase a product, we'll send you an invoice that contains your serial number for the product. Your invoice shows how many licenses of a product can be activated with that serial number. Each time a serial number is used by a new user to activate a product, one license will be claimed. For information about how to activate, see Activating.
If you can't find your invoice, you can view your serial numbers at red-gate.com/myserialnumbers. You'll need to log in with the email address and password you provided when you purchased the product.
If you need to reinstall products on the same computer (e.g. after installing a new operating system), you can reactivate them using the same serial number. This doesn't affect the number of available licenses for the serial number. For information about moving a license to a different computer, see Moving a product license to a different computer.
Bundles and suites
If you've purchased a bundle or suite of products, your serial number will activate all the products in the bundle or suite. For bundles containing both server and client tools (such as the SQL DBA Bundle), you'll receive two serial numbers.
If you deactivate a bundle or suite serial number, all products using that serial number will be deactivated.
For information on which products are included in a bundle, see Bundle history.